- The Number: 70% on 100 Questions
- Why You Still See 75% and Two Hours Online
- What the Issuer Has Not Published
- Where Your Points Come From: Four Content Areas
- Eligibility Comes Before Any Score
- The Proctor, the Workshop, and the Timer
- If You Miss the Mark: Retake Rules
- A Domain-by-Domain Plan Aimed at 70%
- After You Pass: Recertification Points
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The current global Certified Hospitality Educator product specifies 100 questions, three hours, and a 70% passing score.
- Older references to a two-hour exam and a 75% passing score are superseded for the current product.
- A proctor is required, and an AHLEI-approved workshop is part of the certification path.
- Two retake purchases are allowed within one year of application approval.
The Number: 70% on 100 Questions
If you are searching for the Certified Hospitality Educator passing score, here is the short answer: the current global product published by AHLEI lists a 70% passing score on an exam of 100 questions with a three-hour time limit. A proctor is required. That is the figure to plan around for 2026.
Read literally, 70% of 100 questions is 70 correct answers. There is one caution, though. The issuer's product description does not state whether every one of the 100 questions counts toward your score, or whether some are unscored pilot items. Many credentialing programs include unscored items, but the current Certified Hospitality Educator product does not specify a scored/unscored split, so you should not assume that exactly 70 raw correct answers is the only way to read the standard. The safest approach is to aim well above 70% in practice so the technicality never matters.
| Exam Detail | Current Global Product |
|---|---|
| Certifying body | AHLEI (administered with approved workshop/exam proctors) |
| Number of questions | 100 |
| Time allowed | 3 hours |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Proctor | Required |
| Item format | Not specified by the product |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not specified |
| Observed pass rate | Not specified |
For a broader look at how this number translates into real difficulty, see our guide on how hard the CHE exam is, and for what the available data does and does not say about outcomes, read the CHE pass rate analysis.
Why You Still See 75% and Two Hours Online
Candidates researching this credential sometimes run into older material that describes a two-hour exam with a 75% passing mark. Those references are historical. For the current global product, the published figures are three hours and 70%. If a forum post, a former colleague, or an outdated study document quotes the older numbers, treat them as superseded.
This is also a good moment to keep the credential straight. "CHE" appears as an acronym for several unrelated certifications in other fields. Everything on this page concerns Certified Hospitality Educator, the AHLEI credential for hospitality teaching professionals. If you are new to the term, our explainers on what CHE is and what CHE stands for cover the basics.
What the Issuer Has Not Published
A responsible passing-score article should be as clear about the gaps as about the facts. For the current Certified Hospitality Educator product, the following details are not specified in the reviewed public sources:
- Question format. The product does not describe the item types, so avoid claims that the exam is purely multiple choice or includes particular scenario formats.
- Scored versus unscored items. No split is published.
- Domain weights. The four content categories below come from the issuer's workshop content overview. They are not an official weighted exam blueprint.
- Observed pass rate. No pass rate is published for this product.
- Calculator and open-book rules. Not verified, so confirm with your proctor.
- Detailed remote-proctor rules. The official site confirms an online exam, but the finer procedural rules should be confirmed when you schedule.
Because weights are unpublished, you cannot game the exam by overinvesting in one domain and skimping on another. A 70% standard across a mixed set of questions rewards balanced competence. That reality shapes everything in the study plan later in this article.
Where Your Points Come From: Four Content Areas
The issuer organizes the required certification workshop into four categories with twenty subordinate topics. These are the best available map of what the exam is built around, even though official weights remain unpublished. Our full breakdown lives in the CHE exam domains guide; here is how each area connects to earning your 70%.
Domain 1: Teaching Foundations
This is the pedagogy backbone. Expect the workshop to center on how hospitality educators think about learners and classrooms.
- Cultural awareness for global classrooms
- The LEARN model, Bloom's taxonomy, and self-determination theory, explained clearly enough to apply
- Adult learning principles, learning styles, and interactive teaching methods
- Creating positive and inclusive classroom environments
Domain 2: Content Delivery & Engagement
This area covers how a lesson is actually run, in person or online.
- Strategies for teaching in both online and in-person settings
- Effective methods for beginning, presenting, and closing lessons
- Feedback-driven learning activities
- Practical instructional tools, communication methods, and engagement techniques
- Guidance for selecting media and support materials
Domain 3: Assessment & Feedback
The measurement side of teaching. Many candidates with strong industry backgrounds find this the least familiar.
- Writing instructional objectives
- Identifying learning outcomes and levels
- Classroom evaluation techniques
- The Start-Stop-Continue feedback method
- Updated strategies for course closure
Domain 4: Expanded Curriculum Topics
The newest and broadest category, reflecting how hospitality education is changing.
- Professional communication habits
- Academic integrity, AI challenges, and classroom expectations
- Talent management and training and development (T&D) fundamentals
- AI, big data, and the digital landscape in hospitality education
- Sustainability, culinary concepts, and the role of social media
- A sample lesson plan and global hospitality research resources
Key Takeaway
Do not treat Domain 4 as filler. Because no weights are published, a candidate who ignores AI, sustainability, and T&D content in favor of pedagogy theory is gambling with the 70% line. Cover all twenty subtopics at least once.
Eligibility Comes Before Any Score
You cannot reach the passing-score question until your application is approved, so it is worth being precise about who qualifies. The current global issuer describes two routes, and the 2026 host corroborates them:
| Route | Teaching Requirement | Education | Industry Experience |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plan A | Full-time postsecondary hospitality teaching for 2 years | Qualifying degree or diploma | 2 years, including 1 managerial/supervisory |
| Plan B | Current full-time or part-time teaching | Not specified as a degree condition in the reviewed summary | 5 years, including 2 managerial/supervisory |
The 2026 host additionally requires English fluency for both routes; the reviewed global product does not separately specify that condition. The certification process also requires completing a workshop, assignments, and the exam. No universal training-hour or reference-count rule was verified. For the full picture, read CHE requirements and how to qualify.
The Proctor, the Workshop, and the Timer
Three logistical pieces get confused with one another, and each affects how you approach the score.
The proctor requirement
The exam requires a proctor. The official site confirms the exam is delivered online, and no external testing vendor was verified. Detailed remote-proctoring rules were not confirmed in the reviewed sources, so ask about your environment, identification, and permitted materials when you arrange your session.
The required workshop
Certification requires a virtual or in-person workshop. That workshop is where the four content categories above are taught, and its schedule is separate from the exam clock. A multi-day workshop does not mean a multi-day exam. The exam itself runs three hours for 100 questions, which works out to roughly 108 seconds per question if you used the full time evenly, a comfortable pace compared with many professional exams.
Cost context
The current global application, participant guide eBook, and ExamFlex product is priced at USD $663. The member versus non-member mapping is not identified, and the product price is not asserted to cover every workshop cost, since workshop availability and any separate organizer charges need confirmation. For a fuller picture of what you may spend, see the CHE certification cost breakdown.
If You Miss the Mark: Retake Rules
The current product allows two retake purchases within one year from application approval. That window is measured from approval, not from your first exam date, so a delay in scheduling eats into your retake runway. In practice:
- Do not wait many months after approval to sit the exam, or you may leave little time for a retake.
- If a first attempt falls short of 70%, use the gap to target weak domains rather than rereading everything.
- Confirm the retake fee and any waiting period with the issuer, since the fee is unverified and no waiting period was identified in the reviewed sources.
Timing matters too. Our guide to CHE exam dates and scheduling explains how to think about booking around your workshop.
A Domain-by-Domain Plan Aimed at 70%
Since there are no published weights, a balanced plan beats a clever one. Here is a sequence that front-loads the conceptual vocabulary, then moves to application, then to the newest content. Adjust the timeline to your workshop date; the full approach is in the CHE study guide.
Teaching Foundations
- Be able to explain the LEARN model, Bloom's taxonomy, and self-determination theory in your own words
- List adult learning principles and tie each to a hospitality classroom example
- Draft notes on inclusive classroom practices and cultural awareness
Content Delivery & Engagement
- Compare online and in-person delivery strategies side by side
- Outline how to open, present, and close a lesson
- Review media selection and engagement techniques
Assessment & Feedback
- Practice writing instructional objectives and matching them to learning outcome levels
- Rehearse the Start-Stop-Continue method with a sample class
- Review classroom evaluation techniques and course closure strategies
Expanded Curriculum Topics and Mixed Review
- Cover academic integrity, AI in the classroom, T&D fundamentals, sustainability, and social media
- Take a full 100-question mixed practice set under a three-hour limit
- Revisit whichever domain scored lowest
Use the CHE practice tests to simulate the three-hour, 100-question format and track your results by domain. Consistently scoring comfortably above 70% across all four areas, not just overall, is the readiest signal you can generate. For a compressed final review, the CHE cheat sheet is useful the night before.
After You Pass: Recertification Points
Clearing 70% earns the credential, but it does not end your obligations. Current issuer guidance specifically requires 50 recertification points within five years, and every five years thereafter. These are points, not a blanket CEU-hour requirement, so do not assume hours convert one-to-one. The current renewal fee remains unverified.
Whether the effort pays off professionally is a separate question worth weighing before you commit. Our analyses of whether the CHE certification is worth it and the CHE salary guide look at the career side, and the CHE jobs page covers the kinds of roles where hospitality educators work.
Frequently Asked Questions
The current global product specifies a 70% passing score on a 100-question, three-hour exam with a required proctor. Older references to a 75% mark and a two-hour limit are historical and superseded for this product.
On a 100-question exam, 70% corresponds to 70 correct answers if all items are scored. The product does not specify a scored/unscored split, so the safest plan is to aim well above 70% in practice rather than rely on a bare minimum.
Official weights are unpublished. The four categories (Teaching Foundations, Content Delivery & Engagement, Assessment & Feedback, and Expanded Curriculum Topics) come from the issuer's workshop content overview, not an official weighted blueprint, so prepare evenly across all of them.
The current product allows two retake purchases within one year from application approval. The retake fee is currently unverified, so confirm the amount with AHLEI before scheduling your first attempt.
Current issuer guidance requires 50 recertification points within five years and every five years thereafter. These points are not automatically equivalent to CEU hours, and the renewal fee is not currently verified.