- The Short Answer: Certified Hospitality Educator
- Who Issues the Credential and Who It Is For
- The Four Content Areas Behind the Name
- What the Exam Actually Looks Like
- Plan A vs. Plan B: Who Qualifies
- Price, Retakes, and What Is Still Unconfirmed
- Renewal: 50 Points Every Five Years
- Why the Acronym Causes Confusion
- Sequencing Your Prep by Domain
- Where the Credential Fits Professionally
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CHE stands for Certified Hospitality Educator, a credential for people who teach hospitality at the postsecondary level.
- AHLEI administers it; the current product lists 100 questions, three hours, a 70% passing score, and a required proctor.
- Eligibility runs through Plan A or Plan B, both combining teaching experience with hospitality industry management experience.
- Content spans four areas: Teaching Foundations, Content Delivery & Engagement, Assessment & Feedback, and Expanded Curriculum Topics.
The Short Answer: Certified Hospitality Educator
On this site, CHE stands for Certified Hospitality Educator. It is a professional credential for people who teach hospitality, tourism, culinary, and related subjects in postsecondary settings. It is not a general teaching license, and it is not a credential about running a hotel. It sits at the intersection: it certifies that a person who already knows the hospitality industry also knows how to teach it well.
If you have landed here from a search for the acronym, you may have seen "CHE" attached to several unrelated credentials in other fields. This article is only about the hospitality-education one. For more phrasing variations of the same question, see our pages on what CHE is, CHE meaning, and what CHE means. If you want the full credential overview, start with the CHE certification page.
Who Issues the Credential and Who It Is For
The credential is administered by AHLEI. The current official site confirms an online exam, with approved workshop and exam proctors involved. No external testing vendor has been verified, so you should not assume a walk-in testing center model.
The intended candidate is a working hospitality educator. Think of someone who teaches front office operations, food and beverage management, culinary arts, event planning, lodging, or tourism at a college, university, or similar postsecondary institution, and who also has real industry time behind them. The credential signals two things at once: that you have managed or supervised in the industry, and that you have been trained in sound instructional practice.
The Four Content Areas Behind the Name
The issuer publishes a workshop content overview organized into four categories. It is important to be clear about what this is: it describes the required certification workshop, not an official weighted or exhaustive exam blueprint. Official domain weights remain unpublished, and scored-question allocations are unpublished too. Treat the four categories as the best available map of what to study, not as a percentage-based test plan. Our CHE exam domains guide goes deeper on each area.
Domain 1: Teaching Foundations
The conceptual grounding for how people learn and how classrooms work.
- Cultural awareness for global classrooms
- Clear explanations of the LEARN model, Bloom's taxonomy, and self-determination theory
- Adult learning principles, learning styles, and interactive teaching methods
- Creating positive and inclusive classroom environments
Domain 2: Content Delivery & Engagement
The mechanics of actually running a session, online or in person.
- Strategies for teaching in both online and in-person settings
- Effective methods for beginning, presenting, and closing lessons
- Feedback-driven learning activities
- Practical instructional tools, communication methods, and engagement techniques
- Guidance for selecting media and support materials
Domain 3: Assessment & Feedback
How educators define success and measure it.
- Writing instructional objectives
- Identifying learning outcomes and levels
- Classroom evaluation techniques
- The Start-Stop-Continue feedback method
- Updated strategies for course closure
Domain 4: Expanded Curriculum Topics
The broadest and most current-events-flavored area.
- Professional communication habits
- Academic integrity, AI challenges, and classroom expectations
- Talent management and training & development (T&D) fundamentals
- AI, big data, and the digital landscape in hospitality education
- Sustainability, culinary concepts, and the role of social media
- Sample lesson plan and global hospitality research resources
Notice how much of this is pedagogy rather than hospitality operations. A candidate with decades of hotel experience can still be caught off guard by questions that hinge on Bloom's taxonomy levels or the difference between a learning outcome and an instructional objective.
What the Exam Actually Looks Like
The current global CHE product specifies the following:
| Feature | Current Product Detail |
|---|---|
| Number of questions | 100 |
| Time allowed | 3 hours |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Proctor | Required |
| Delivery | Online exam per the official site |
| Item format | Not specified by the product |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not specified |
| Observed pass rate | Not specified |
You may find older references to a two-hour exam or a 75% passing mark. Those are historical and superseded for the current product, so do not plan around them. Details such as calculator use, open-book rules, and the specifics of remote proctoring are unverified, so confirm them with the issuer before test day rather than assuming. For the scoring detail, see our CHE passing score article, and for what the data does and does not say about outcomes, read the CHE pass rate page.
Plan A vs. Plan B: Who Qualifies
The issuer defines two eligibility routes. Both combine teaching and industry experience, but they weigh them differently.
| Requirement | Plan A | Plan B |
|---|---|---|
| Teaching | Full-time postsecondary hospitality teaching for 2 years | Current full-time or part-time teaching |
| Education | Qualifying degree or diploma | Not listed as a requirement in the summarized criteria |
| Industry experience | 2 years, including 1 managerial or supervisory | 5 years, including 2 managerial or supervisory |
The 2026 host additionally requires English fluency for both routes, though the reviewed global product does not separately specify that condition. In short, Plan A suits educators with a formal credential and an established full-time teaching record, while Plan B suits those who are currently teaching, even part-time, and bring deeper industry history. Our CHE requirements guide walks through how to document each route.
Price, Retakes, and What Is Still Unconfirmed
The current global product bundles the application, the participant guide eBook, and the ExamFlex exam, priced at USD $663. A few cautions apply:
- Member versus non-member pricing has not been mapped, so do not assume a discount applies to you.
- Workshop availability and any separate organizer charges need confirmation. The product price is not asserted to cover every workshop cost.
- Two retake purchases are allowed within one year from application approval. The retake fee itself is unverified.
Budget for the confirmed figure and treat everything else as "ask before you pay." The full picture is covered in our CHE certification cost breakdown.
Key Takeaway
Because retakes are limited to two purchases within one year of application approval, treat your first attempt as the one that counts. Finish workshop assignments early and leave a buffer before sitting the exam.
Renewal: 50 Points Every Five Years
The current issuer-specific renewal requirement is 50 recertification points within five years, and again every five years thereafter. Two cautions matter here. First, points are not a blanket CEU-hour requirement, so do not assume that 50 hours of generic continuing education will satisfy it. Second, the current renewal fee remains unverified. Check the issuer's recertification guidance and keep records of activities as you go rather than reconstructing them in year five.
Why the Acronym Causes Confusion
Search results for "CHE" mix several unrelated credentials and organizations. That is exactly why a clear definition matters. When you see CHE on this site, it refers only to Certified Hospitality Educator: the AHLEI credential, the educator-focused workshop, and the four content areas above. Facts about other certifications that share the letters, including their fees, exam dates, or domain weights, do not apply here. If you want the same answer in different wording, our pages on what CHE stands for, what a CHE is, and what CHE certification is cover the question from other angles.
Sequencing Your Prep by Domain
Generic study tactics matter less than ordering the four content areas sensibly. Because the domains build on one another, a domain-by-domain plan makes sense. The full method is in the CHE study guide; here is a compact sequence tied to the actual content.
Teaching Foundations
- Learn the LEARN model, Bloom's taxonomy levels, and self-determination theory well enough to explain each in plain language
- Review adult learning principles and inclusive classroom practices
Content Delivery & Engagement
- Practice structuring a lesson opening, presentation, and close
- Compare online and in-person delivery strategies
Assessment & Feedback
- Draft instructional objectives and match them to learning outcomes
- Rehearse the Start-Stop-Continue method
Expanded Curriculum Topics, then full review
- Cover AI and academic integrity, T&D fundamentals, sustainability, and social media
- Take timed practice sets that mirror a 100-question, three-hour sitting
Foundations come first because later domains lean on its vocabulary. Expanded Curriculum Topics come last because they are the broadest and most likely to reflect recent industry changes. Use a CHE practice test to check retention between weeks, and quick-reference tools like the CHE cheat sheet to consolidate definitions. If you are weighing effort, our difficulty guide offers realistic context. Dedicated CHE training options are worth comparing alongside the required workshop.
Where the Credential Fits Professionally
The people who value this credential are mostly hospitality schools, colleges, and training programs that want instructors with demonstrated teaching competence, along with the instructors themselves, who use it to differentiate their profile. Typical settings include hospitality management departments, culinary programs, tourism schools, and corporate or association training roles that overlap with education. No specific salary figures are verified for the credential, so any numbers you see elsewhere should be treated with caution. To think through the decision, read the ROI analysis, the salary guide, and the CHE jobs page. You can also test your readiness anytime on the main practice test site.
Frequently Asked Questions
CHE stands for Certified Hospitality Educator, a credential administered by AHLEI for people who teach hospitality subjects at the postsecondary level.
The current global product lists 100 questions, a three-hour time limit, a 70% passing score, and a required proctor. Older two-hour and 75% references are superseded. Item format and the scored versus unscored split are not specified.
Eligibility follows Plan A (two years of full-time postsecondary hospitality teaching, a qualifying degree or diploma, and two industry years including one managerial) or Plan B (current teaching, plus five industry years including two managerial). The 2026 host also requires English fluency.
The current global application, participant guide eBook, and ExamFlex product is priced at USD $663, though workshop and organizer charges need confirmation. Two retake purchases are allowed within one year of application approval; the retake fee is unverified.
The issuer requires 50 recertification points within five years and every five years thereafter. Points are not a blanket CEU-hour requirement, and the renewal fee remains unverified, so check current issuer guidance.