- What "CHE Training" Actually Covers
- Check Eligibility Before You Pay for Anything
- The Required Workshop and the Exam Are Two Different Things
- Training Content: The Four CHE Categories
- Exam Format You Are Training For
- Product Price, Retakes and What Is Still Unconfirmed
- Sequencing Your Prep Around the CHE Domains
- After You Pass: Recertification Points
- Who Benefits From CHE Training
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CHE means Certified Hospitality Educator, administered by AHLEI, and the exam is delivered online with a required proctor.
- The current global product lists 100 questions, three hours and a 70% passing score; older two-hour, 75% claims are superseded.
- Training includes a required virtual or in-person workshop, assignments and the exam; the workshop schedule is not the exam timer.
- The published workshop content spans four categories: Teaching Foundations, Content Delivery & Engagement, Assessment & Feedback, and Expanded Curriculum...
What "CHE Training" Actually Covers
Searching for CHE training can be confusing because the acronym is shared by several unrelated credentials. On this site, CHE means one thing: Certified Hospitality Educator, the AHLEI credential designed for people who teach hospitality at the postsecondary level. If you want a plain-language orientation first, start with What Is CHE? or What Does CHE Stand For? before returning here.
Unlike a typical technical certification where "training" means memorizing a body of facts, CHE training is about how to teach. The preparation path combines three pieces: a required certification workshop (virtual or in-person), assignments connected to that workshop, and the proctored exam itself. Your goal is to demonstrate that you can plan, deliver and assess instruction for hospitality students, not simply that you know hospitality content.
Check Eligibility Before You Pay for Anything
Training is wasted if you cannot sit the exam. The current issuer eligibility is built around two routes, and you should confirm which one fits you before purchasing. Our full breakdown lives in CHE Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify, but the essentials are below.
| Element | Plan A | Plan B |
|---|---|---|
| Teaching status | Full-time postsecondary hospitality teaching for 2 years | Currently teaching, full-time or part-time |
| Education | Qualifying degree or diploma | No degree condition stated in the reviewed issuer product |
| Industry experience | 2 years, including 1 managerial or supervisory | 5 years, including 2 managerial or supervisory |
| English fluency | Required for both routes under the 2026 host; the reviewed global product does not separately specify it | |
Notice what is not stated: there is no universal training-hour or reference-count rule verified for the current product. Do not assume you need a particular number of logged hours or references beyond what the application itself asks for.
The Required Workshop and the Exam Are Two Different Things
A frequent point of confusion is treating the workshop as part of the exam clock. It is not. The certification requires completion of a virtual or in-person workshop, plus assignments, plus the exam. Workshop schedules are not the exam timer, and a workshop session length tells you nothing about how long you will have on exam day.
Practical implications for your training timeline:
- Workshop availability varies. Confirm current sessions with AHLEI. Any separate organizer charges need confirmation, because the product price is not asserted to cover every workshop-related cost.
- Assignments are part of completion. Treat them as graded learning, not paperwork; they exercise the same skills the exam tests.
- Exam scheduling comes through approved proctors. AHLEI administers CHE with approved workshop and exam proctors, and the current official site confirms an online exam. If you are mapping dates, see CHE Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Training Content: The Four CHE Categories
The issuer publishes a content overview for the required workshop organized into four categories and twenty subordinate topics. Treat this as your syllabus. It is not an official weighted or exhaustive exam blueprint; official weights and scored-question allocations are unpublished, so avoid any source that claims a precise percentage for each domain. For a deeper walkthrough, read CHE Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 4 Content Areas.
Domain 1: Teaching Foundations
The theory layer. You need to explain frameworks clearly enough to apply them to a lesson, not just name them.
- Cultural awareness for global classrooms
- Clear explanations of the LEARN model, Bloom's taxonomy and self-determination theory
- Adult learning principles, learning styles and interactive teaching methods
- Creating positive and inclusive classroom environments
Domain 2: Content Delivery & Engagement
The classroom-craft layer, covering both online and in-person delivery.
- Strategies for teaching in online and in-person settings
- Effective methods for beginning, presenting and closing lessons
- Feedback-driven learning activities
- Practical instructional tools, communication methods and engagement techniques
- Guidance for selecting media and support materials
Domain 3: Assessment & Feedback
Where many experienced industry professionals discover unfamiliar terminology.
- Writing instructional objectives
- Identifying learning outcomes and levels
- Classroom evaluation techniques
- The Start-Stop-Continue feedback method
- Updated strategies for course closure
Domain 4: Expanded Curriculum Topics
The broadest and most current-events-oriented category.
- Professional communication habits
- Academic integrity, AI challenges and classroom expectations
- Talent management and training & development (T&D) fundamentals
- AI, big data and the digital landscape in hospitality education
- Sustainability, culinary concepts and the role of social media
- A sample lesson plan and global hospitality research resources
How the pieces connect
These four areas are not isolated silos. Bloom's taxonomy (Domain 1) drives how you write instructional objectives and identify learning levels (Domain 3). The way you open and close a lesson (Domain 2) connects to course closure strategies (Domain 3). When you study, practice linking them: take a single hospitality topic, such as guest-service recovery, write an objective at a defined learning level, choose a delivery method, and decide how you would collect Start-Stop-Continue feedback.
Exam Format You Are Training For
The current global CHE product specifies the following. If you have seen different numbers elsewhere, they may be historical.
| Item | Current product detail |
|---|---|
| Questions | 100 |
| Time limit | 3 hours |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Proctor | Required |
| Delivery | Online exam confirmed on the current official site |
| Item format and scored/unscored split | Not specified by this product |
| Observed pass rate | Not specified by this product |
Older references to a two-hour exam and a 75% passing mark are superseded for this product, so any study plan built on those figures should be corrected. For the scoring picture, see CHE Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass. Because the pass rate is not published for this product, treat claims of specific pass percentages with caution; CHE Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows explains what can and cannot be said from public information.
With 100 questions in three hours, you have a comfortable pace of well under two minutes per item on average, but scenario-style teaching questions reward careful reading. Since the item format is not specified, prepare for the possibility of both direct knowledge questions (for example, defining a framework) and applied ones (choosing the best response to a classroom situation).
Product Price, Retakes and What Is Still Unconfirmed
The current global application, participant guide eBook and ExamFlex product is priced at USD $663. A few points to keep straight:
- Member versus non-member pricing is not identified in the reviewed material, so do not assume a discount applies.
- The price is not asserted to cover every workshop cost. Confirm whether your workshop provider charges separately.
- Two retake purchases are allowed within one year from application approval. The retake fee itself remains unverified, so check before you rely on a figure.
- The renewal fee also remains unverified.
That one-year retake window is a planning constraint: it begins at application approval, not at your first exam attempt. If you apply months before you are ready, you shorten the time available for retakes. For a fuller view of budgeting, see CHE Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Key Takeaway
Do not submit your application until your workshop date and your proctored exam window both fit inside a realistic prep timeline. The retake clock starts at approval, so applying early without a plan quietly burns your safety net.
Sequencing Your Prep Around the CHE Domains
This is the one place for generic scheduling, and it is tied to the content order that makes teaching concepts easiest to absorb. Build foundations first, because later domains lean on them. Adjust the length to your own calendar; the following is a sample structure, not an issuer requirement.
Teaching Foundations
- Be able to explain the LEARN model, Bloom's taxonomy and self-determination theory in your own words
- Review adult learning principles and inclusive classroom practices
Content Delivery & Engagement
- Draft how you would open, present and close a lesson, in person and online
- List engagement techniques and match media choices to lesson goals
Assessment & Feedback
- Practice writing instructional objectives tied to learning levels
- Rehearse the Start-Stop-Continue method and course closure strategies
Expanded Curriculum Topics and full review
- Cover academic integrity and AI, talent management and T&D, digital trends, and sustainability
- Work through the sample lesson plan, then take timed practice sets
Allocate extra time to Domains 3 and 4 if your background is operational rather than academic. Domain 4 changes with the field, so favor current-issue understanding (for example, how AI affects academic integrity) over rote memorization. For a structured approach to the whole process, see the CHE Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and keep the CHE Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts handy for last-day review.
When you are ready to test yourself, use the timed question sets on the CHE practice test site. Practice questions are most useful once you have covered all four categories, so you can identify which area is dragging down your score. If you want a gauge of what to expect, How Hard Is the CHE Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 frames the challenge for working professionals.
After You Pass: Recertification Points
CHE training does not end at certification. The current issuer CHE-specific renewal requirement is 50 recertification points within five years, and every five years thereafter. A few cautions:
- Points are not a blanket CEU-hour requirement and are not automatically equivalent to CEU hours.
- The renewal fee remains unverified, so confirm it directly.
- Keep records of qualifying activity as you go rather than reconstructing them in year five.
Because the content overview emphasizes keeping up with AI, big data and digital change, ongoing professional development in those areas is a natural way to stay current as well as to accumulate points where the issuer allows it. Always verify what counts against the issuer's recertification guidance.
Who Benefits From CHE Training
The credential is aimed at hospitality educators, so the employers and roles that care most are hospitality and tourism programs at colleges, universities and training institutions, along with organizations that run internal instruction. Industry professionals moving into teaching, and part-time instructors seeking recognition, are natural candidates under Plan B. For roles and career direction, see CHE Jobs and CHE Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis. We do not quote specific salary figures here because none are verified for this credential. To weigh the investment, Is the CHE Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 walks through the decision, and the overview at CHE Certification pulls the pieces together.
Frequently Asked Questions
It includes a required virtual or in-person workshop, assignments and the proctored exam. The workshop content is organized into four categories: Teaching Foundations, Content Delivery & Engagement, Assessment & Feedback, and Expanded Curriculum Topics.
The current global product lists 100 questions in three hours with a 70% passing score and a required proctor. Earlier two-hour and 75% references are superseded for this product.
The global application, participant guide eBook and ExamFlex product is USD $663, but it is not asserted to cover every workshop cost. Confirm any separate organizer charges before you register.
Two retake purchases are allowed within one year from application approval. The current retake fee is unverified, so check it with AHLEI before planning around a specific amount.
The issuer requires 50 recertification points within five years, and every five years thereafter. These points are not automatically the same as CEU hours, and the renewal fee remains unverified.