- Which CHE This Cheat Sheet Covers
- The Exam at a Glance
- Eligibility Snapshot: Plan A vs Plan B
- Fees, Retakes and What Stays Unconfirmed
- The Four Content Categories
- Teaching Foundations: Must-Know Concepts
- Content Delivery & Engagement: Must-Know Concepts
- Assessment & Feedback: Must-Know Concepts
- Expanded Curriculum Topics: The Modern Add-Ons
- Renewal: The 50-Point Rule
- Sequencing Your Review by Category
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The current global CHE product lists 100 questions, three hours, a 70% passing score and a required proctor.
- Older two-hour and 75% references are superseded for the current product, so ignore them in outdated notes.
- Four workshop categories drive review: Teaching Foundations, Content Delivery & Engagement, Assessment & Feedback, and Expanded Curriculum Topics.
- Renewal requires 50 recertification points within five years, then every five years after that, not a blanket CEU-hour count.
Which CHE This Cheat Sheet Covers
"CHE" is shared by several unrelated credentials. This page is about one: the Certified Hospitality Educator, administered through AHLEI for people who teach hospitality at the postsecondary level. Everything below, including the exam specs, eligibility routes, workshop content and renewal rules, applies to that credential only. If you are still sorting out the acronym, start with What Does CHE Stand For? or What Is CHE Certification?, then come back here for the one-page review.
Treat this article as a pre-exam skim sheet. It compresses the facts that matter into scannable blocks, and it flags the details that are not publicly confirmed, so you do not memorize something that was never true for the current exam.
The Exam at a Glance
The current global CHE product bundles the application, participant-guide eBook and exam (sold under the ExamFlex format). The exam is delivered online with an approved proctor. Here is the compact spec sheet:
| Item | Current Product Detail |
|---|---|
| Number of questions | 100 |
| Time allowed | 3 hours |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Proctor | Required (approved workshop/exam proctors) |
| Delivery | Online exam; no external testing vendor verified |
| Question format | Not specified by the product |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not specified |
| Published pass rate | Not specified |
| Official domain weights | Unpublished |
Pacing math is simple: 100 questions in 180 minutes leaves roughly 1.8 minutes per item on average. That is a comfortable pace if you know the material, so the real risk is not speed but second-guessing. Some rules remain unverified in public sources, including calculator use, open-book allowances and detailed remote-proctor procedures, so confirm them with your proctor before test day rather than assuming.
Eligibility Snapshot: Plan A vs Plan B
CHE is for working educators, so eligibility combines teaching and industry experience. The current issuer publishes two routes, and the 2026 host requires English fluency for both (the reviewed global product does not list that condition separately).
| Requirement | Plan A | Plan B |
|---|---|---|
| Teaching status | Full-time postsecondary hospitality teaching for 2 years | Current full-time or part-time teaching |
| Education | Qualifying degree or diploma | No degree condition listed in the reviewed summary |
| Industry experience | 2 years, including 1 managerial/supervisory | 5 years, including 2 managerial/supervisory |
| English fluency | Required (2026 host) | Required (2026 host) |
Beyond the routes, candidates must complete the required workshop, any assignments, and the exam. No universal training-hour or reference-count rule has been verified, so do not assume a hard hour threshold. For the full qualification walkthrough, read CHE Requirements 2026.
Fees, Retakes and What Stays Unconfirmed
The current global application, participant-guide eBook and ExamFlex product is priced at USD $663. A few cautions keep your budget honest:
- The member versus non-member price mapping is not identified, so do not assume a discount applies to you.
- Workshop availability and any separate organizer charges need confirmation. The $663 product price is not asserted to cover every workshop cost.
- Two retake purchases are allowed within one year from application approval.
- The current retake fee and the current renewal fee are both unverified.
That last point matters for planning. If your employer reimburses certification costs, ask for a written scope that covers the workshop and potential retakes, not just the headline product. The full breakdown lives in CHE Certification Cost 2026.
Key Takeaway
The workshop schedule is not your exam timer. CHE certification requires a virtual or in-person workshop, but the three-hour clock applies to the exam itself. Plan the workshop date, the proctored exam date, and your one-year retake window as three separate calendar items. See CHE Exam Dates 2026 for scheduling detail.
The Four Content Categories
The four categories and twenty subordinate topics below come from the issuer's published content overview for its required certification workshop. They are not an official weighted or exhaustive exam blueprint. Official weights and scored-question allocations remain unpublished, so no one can honestly tell you "Domain 2 is 30% of the exam." Study all four categories rather than trying to game percentages. For a fuller breakdown, see CHE Exam Domains 2026.
| Category | Number of Listed Topics | Core Theme |
|---|---|---|
| Teaching Foundations | 4 | Learning theory, inclusion, adult learners |
| Content Delivery & Engagement | 5 | Lesson flow, online/in-person delivery, media |
| Assessment & Feedback | 5 | Objectives, outcomes, evaluation, closure |
| Expanded Curriculum Topics | 6 | Communication, integrity, AI, T&D, sustainability |
Teaching Foundations: Must-Know Concepts
Domain 1: Teaching Foundations
This category is the theory spine of the workshop. Expect to recognize each framework by name and apply it to a classroom scenario, not just define it.
- Cultural awareness for global classrooms: adapting examples, pacing and expectations for learners from different backgrounds.
- The LEARN model, Bloom's taxonomy and self-determination theory: know what each is for and how it shapes lesson design.
- Adult learning principles, learning styles and interactive teaching methods: why adult learners need relevance, autonomy and active participation.
- Positive and inclusive classroom environments: practical steps that make every learner feel able to contribute.
A useful way to hold these together: Bloom's taxonomy tells you what level of thinking you are asking for, self-determination theory explains why learners stay motivated (autonomy, competence, relatedness), and adult learning principles explain how to structure the experience for working professionals. Scenario questions typically blend two of these, so practice connecting them rather than memorizing isolated definitions.
Content Delivery & Engagement: Must-Know Concepts
Domain 2: Content Delivery & Engagement
This is the "how you actually run a session" category, and it covers both online and in-person teaching.
- Online versus in-person strategies: what changes when you cannot read the room and how to compensate.
- Beginning, presenting and closing lessons: a deliberate opening, structured delivery, and a purposeful close rather than running out of time.
- Feedback-driven learning activities: activities designed so learner responses shape what happens next.
- Instructional tools, communication methods and engagement techniques: matching the tool to the learning objective.
- Selecting media and support materials: choosing visuals, handouts and digital resources that support, not distract.
The recurring exam logic here is alignment: the delivery method should serve the objective. If a scenario describes a passive lecture and disengaged learners, the best answer almost always adds interaction or feedback that fits the stated goal, not a flashier tool.
Assessment & Feedback: Must-Know Concepts
Domain 3: Assessment & Feedback
This category rewards precision, especially around objectives and outcomes.
- Writing instructional objectives: clear, observable statements of what learners will be able to do.
- Identifying learning outcomes and levels: connecting outcomes to cognitive levels, which links back to Bloom's taxonomy.
- Classroom evaluation techniques: checking understanding during and after instruction.
- Start-Stop-Continue feedback method: asking what to start doing, stop doing and continue doing.
- Updated strategies for course closure: ending a course so that learning is consolidated and feedback is captured.
Start-Stop-Continue is a named method, so expect it to appear as a recognizable term. Know that it is a simple, learner-friendly way to gather actionable feedback, and be ready to identify when it is the appropriate choice compared with a formal evaluation.
Expanded Curriculum Topics: The Modern Add-Ons
Domain 4: Expanded Curriculum Topics
This is the broadest category and the one most likely to catch candidates who only studied pedagogy.
- Professional communication habits: clear, respectful, timely communication with learners and colleagues.
- Academic integrity, AI challenges and classroom expectations: setting transparent rules in an era of generative tools.
- Talent management and training & development (T&D) fundamentals: how education connects to workforce development.
- AI, big data and the digital landscape in hospitality education: what these shifts mean for curriculum and teaching.
- Sustainability, culinary concepts and the role of social media: contemporary themes that shape hospitality programs.
- Sample lesson plan and global hospitality research resources: how a lesson plan is assembled and where to find credible research.
Because this category mixes unrelated themes, the best prep is breadth. You do not need deep technical expertise in AI or big data; you need to recognize the educational implications, such as how to set expectations about AI-assisted work. Candidates who skip this category because it feels "less like teaching" are the ones most exposed.
Renewal: The 50-Point Rule
Certification is not permanent. The current issuer's CHE-specific requirement is 50 recertification points within five years, and every five years thereafter. Two clarifications keep you out of trouble:
- Points are not automatically equivalent to CEU hours. Do not assume a CEU you earned elsewhere converts one-to-one.
- The current renewal fee is unverified, so check the issuer's recertification page when your window opens.
Start logging qualifying activities from year one instead of scrambling in year five. If you are weighing whether the whole commitment pays off, Is the CHE Certification Worth It? walks through the return on investment, and CHE Jobs covers the kinds of roles where the credential carries weight.
Sequencing Your Review by Category
Since official weights are unpublished, a sensible plan gives every category attention while ordering topics by dependency. Theory first, because later categories build on it. For a fuller plan, see the CHE Study Guide 2026.
Teaching Foundations
- Pair Bloom's taxonomy, the LEARN model and self-determination theory in your own words.
- Draft one inclusive-classroom scenario and name the principle behind each choice.
Content Delivery & Engagement plus Assessment & Feedback
- Outline a lesson with a deliberate opening, body and close, then adapt it for online delivery.
- Write five instructional objectives with measurable verbs and level labels.
Expanded Curriculum Topics and mixed review
- Skim each of the six modern add-on topics and note one classroom implication apiece.
- Take a timed mixed set to rehearse the 1.8-minute-per-question pace.
Adjust the pacing to your own timeline. Teaching professionals often find the first two categories familiar from practice and the fourth the least familiar, so spend extra time where your daily work gives you the least exposure. When you are ready to test yourself, the CHE practice tests let you rehearse scenario-style questions, and you can check your readiness against the difficulty discussion in How Hard Is the CHE Exam?.
Frequently Asked Questions
The current global CHE product lists 100 questions and a three-hour time limit, with a required proctor. Older references to a two-hour exam are historical and superseded for this product.
The current product specifies a 70% passing score. Earlier references to 75% are superseded. The item format, scored versus unscored split and an observed pass rate are not specified, so be cautious about any site claiming a precise pass percentage. See CHE Pass Rate 2026 for what can and cannot be said.
Official weights are unpublished. The four categories and twenty topics come from the issuer's workshop content overview, which is not a weighted or exhaustive exam blueprint. Prepare across all four rather than favoring one.
Yes. Two retake purchases are permitted within one year from application approval. The current retake fee is unverified, so confirm the amount with the issuer before you buy.
The current issuer requires 50 recertification points within five years and every five years thereafter. These points are not automatically the same as CEU hours, and the renewal fee is unverified, so check the issuer's recertification guidance. For earnings context, see the CHE Salary Guide.