CHE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CHE Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • CHE (Certified Hospitality Educator) is administered by AHLEI through approved workshop/exam proctors, so dates are arranged with a proctor.
  • The current global product is 100 questions in 3 hours, with a 70% passing score and a required proctor.
  • Two retake purchases are allowed within one year of application approval, so your approval date starts a real deadline.
  • A virtual or in-person workshop is required, but the workshop schedule is not the exam timer.

How CHE Scheduling Actually Works

Candidates searching for "CHE exam dates 2026" often expect a published list of testing windows, like a fixed spring and fall calendar. The Certified Hospitality Educator credential from AHLEI does not work that way based on the current issuer product information. Instead of a national date calendar, the program is built around an application, a required workshop, and an exam taken with an approved proctor.

That distinction matters for planning. The question to answer is not "which Saturday in 2026 is the CHE exam?" but "when can I complete the workshop, and when can I arrange a proctor for a three-hour sitting?" This guide walks through each of those decision points so you can build a realistic calendar. If you are still deciding whether the credential fits your career, start with What Is CHE Certification? and then return here for the logistics.

Important scope note: This article is about the Certified Hospitality Educator credential only. Several unrelated credentials share the CHE acronym, and their schedules, fees and rules do not apply here. Everything below refers to the AHLEI-administered hospitality educator certification.

Why There Is No Single National Test Date

The current official product listing describes an application, participant guide eBook and exam bundle, with an online exam and approved workshop/exam proctors. No external testing vendor was verified. That structure explains why you will not find a rigid list of testing windows to memorize:

  • Proctor-driven scheduling: A proctor is required, so your exam date depends on proctor availability and your own readiness rather than a centrally published test day.
  • Workshop-linked timing: The certification process includes a required workshop, offered in virtual or in-person form. Workshop availability varies, and you should confirm current offerings directly with AHLEI.
  • Application-based clock: Retake rights are tied to application approval (more on that below), which makes approval the most important date in your timeline.

Because workshop schedules and any organizer charges can change, treat any third-party "CHE exam dates" table with caution unless it cites the issuer. The reliable approach is to check the AHLEI review sessions and workshops page, then confirm details with the proctor or workshop organizer before paying for anything beyond the base product.

Scheduling ElementWhat the Current Product Indicates
AdministratorAHLEI, with approved workshop/exam proctors
Exam deliveryOnline exam; no external testing vendor verified
Fixed national test datesNot identified in reviewed sources
ProctorRequired
WorkshopRequired; virtual or in-person
Retake windowTwo retake purchases within one year of application approval

Eligibility Checkpoints Before You Schedule

You cannot sensibly schedule an exam date until you know you qualify. The current issuer eligibility describes two routes, and the 2026 host requires English fluency for both. Our full breakdown lives in CHE Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify, but the date-relevant summary is:

Plan A: Full-Time Postsecondary Teaching Route

Designed for established hospitality instructors.

  • Two years of full-time postsecondary hospitality teaching
  • A qualifying degree or diploma
  • Two years of industry experience, including one year in a managerial or supervisory role

Plan B: Current Teaching Route

For current full-time or part-time instructors with deeper industry backgrounds.

  • Current full-time or part-time teaching
  • Five years of industry experience, including two in a managerial or supervisory role

If your documentation of teaching or industry experience is incomplete, resolve that first. A delayed application means a delayed approval date, which pushes back everything downstream, including the clock on your retake rights. No universal training-hour or reference-count rule was verified for the current product, so do not assume additional paperwork thresholds that the issuer has not stated.

The Workshop-to-Exam Sequence

The CHE pathway has three required pieces: the workshop, the assignments, and the exam. Plan them as a sequence rather than three independent events.

  1. Apply and receive approval. Your approval date starts the one-year retake window, so apply when you are genuinely ready to progress, not months before.
  2. Complete the required workshop. It can be virtual or in-person. A workshop session date is simply when you attend; it is not your exam deadline or your exam timer.
  3. Finish required assignments. Build time into your calendar for these before sitting the exam.
  4. Arrange your proctor and sit the exam. Confirm technology and environment requirements with the proctor in advance.
Don't confuse the workshop with the exam: A common planning error is treating a workshop date as the exam date. The workshop is instruction and preparation; the three-hour exam is a separate event arranged with your proctor.

Many candidates find the workshop an ideal anchor for their study schedule. If a workshop is scheduled for a particular month, you can work backward to complete foundational reading beforehand and forward to schedule your exam while the material is fresh. For resource ideas on the preparation side, see CHE Training and our CHE Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.

What Exam Day Looks Like: Format and Proctoring

When you pick a date, you are committing to a specific sitting length and standard. The current global CHE product specifies:

  • 100 questions
  • 3 hours of exam time
  • 70% passing score
  • Proctor required

Older references to a two-hour exam or a 75% passing standard are superseded for the current product, so disregard any study material or forum post quoting those numbers. For deeper context on the standard itself, read CHE Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Several details remain unverified in public sources, and you should confirm them with your proctor before exam day rather than assume:

  • Whether a calculator is permitted
  • Whether the exam is open-book
  • Detailed remote-proctoring rules (room scans, identification, permitted materials)
  • The item format and any scored versus unscored split

A historical video requirement has been mentioned in older material, but it is not confirmed as current. Ask directly when you arrange your session. Likewise, an observed pass rate is not specified by the product; see CHE Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows for how to interpret the limited information that exists, and How Hard Is the CHE Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 for a realistic view of difficulty.

Key Takeaway

Book your proctor session for a time when you can protect a full three uninterrupted hours, plus buffer for check-in. A hundred questions in 180 minutes leaves roughly a minute and a half per item, so a rushed or interrupted sitting is a real risk.

Fees, Retake Purchases and the One-Year Window

The current global application, participant guide eBook and exam product is listed at USD $663. The member versus non-member mapping for that price has not been identified, and the product price is not asserted to cover every workshop cost. Any separate organizer charge for a workshop needs confirmation with the workshop provider. For a fuller look, see CHE Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Cost ItemStatus in Reviewed Sources
Application + participant guide eBook + examUSD $663 (global product price)
Member vs. non-member pricingMapping not identified
Separate workshop organizer chargesNeed confirmation; not asserted to be included
Retake feeCurrent fee unverified
Renewal feeCurrent fee unverified

Why the retake window shapes your calendar

Two retake purchases are permitted within one year from application approval. This is the single most date-sensitive rule in the program. It means you should not approve and then let the application sit idle: the clock starts at approval, not at your first exam attempt. A practical way to use this:

  • Time your application so approval lands close to your workshop and intended exam period.
  • Leave room in the year for a possible retake rather than scheduling your first attempt near the end of the window.
  • Confirm the current retake fee before you need it, since it was not verified in public sources.

Matching Your Prep Calendar to the Four Content Areas

The issuer publishes a workshop content overview with four categories and twenty subordinate topics. These are the workshop's content areas, not an official weighted exam blueprint, and official weights and scored-question allocations remain unpublished. Because no weights exist, balance your time by familiarity and by how heavily the workshop emphasizes each area. For a full walkthrough, see CHE Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 4 Content Areas.

Here is one way to sequence your preparation between application approval and your exam date, assuming roughly a month of focused work:

Week 1

Domain 1: Teaching Foundations

  • Cultural awareness for global classrooms
  • The LEARN model, Bloom's taxonomy and self-determination theory
  • Adult learning principles, learning styles and interactive methods
  • Positive and inclusive classroom environments
Week 2

Domain 2: Content Delivery & Engagement

  • Online versus in-person teaching strategies
  • Beginning, presenting and closing lessons
  • Feedback-driven learning activities
  • Selecting media and support materials
Week 3

Domain 3: Assessment & Feedback

  • Writing instructional objectives
  • Identifying learning outcomes and levels
  • Classroom evaluation techniques
  • The Start-Stop-Continue feedback method and course closure
Week 4

Domain 4: Expanded Curriculum Topics, then Review

  • Professional communication habits and academic integrity, including AI challenges
  • Talent management and training and development fundamentals
  • AI, big data and the digital landscape; sustainability, culinary concepts and social media
  • Sample lesson plan and global research resources, then a timed run-through

The reasoning behind this order: Teaching Foundations supplies the vocabulary (Bloom's taxonomy, the LEARN model, self-determination theory) that Domains 2 and 3 build on. Assessment questions about objectives and outcome levels are far easier once you can place a verb on Bloom's ladder. Domain 4 is the most heterogeneous, spanning professional communication, talent management, AI and sustainability, so it benefits from the most review time right before the exam.

Domain 4 Deserves Extra Calendar Space

Expanded Curriculum Topics mixes subjects that educators may not teach daily.

  • Academic integrity and AI challenges in the classroom
  • Training and development fundamentals within talent management
  • Hospitality-specific trends: sustainability, culinary concepts and social media

For a compact review aid close to exam day, pair this plan with the CHE Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts, and use the CHE practice test to rehearse pacing against the 100-question, three-hour format.

After You Pass: The Five-Year Renewal Clock

Scheduling does not end at certification. Current issuer renewal guidance for CHE requires 50 recertification points within five years, and again every five years thereafter. These points are not a blanket CEU-hour requirement and are not automatically equivalent to CEU hours, so do not assume that any continuing-education hour you earn converts one-to-one. The current renewal fee remains unverified, so confirm it through AHLEI as your renewal approaches.

A sensible habit is to log eligible professional activity from the first year rather than scrambling in year five. If you are weighing the long-term value of the credential, our analyses in Is the CHE Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and CHE Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis can help, and CHE Jobs covers the kinds of teaching roles where the credential is relevant.

Dates-and-Deadlines Planning Checklist

Use this sequence to turn the above into a personal calendar:

  1. Confirm eligibility under Plan A or Plan B, and gather documentation of teaching and managerial/supervisory experience.
  2. Check workshop availability on the AHLEI review sessions and workshops page, and confirm any separate organizer charges.
  3. Time your application so approval does not start the one-year retake clock too early.
  4. Complete the workshop and assignments before arranging your exam sitting.
  5. Arrange your proctor and confirm calculator, open-book and remote-proctoring rules directly.
  6. Reserve a protected three-hour block with buffer time for check-in.
  7. Keep a retake buffer inside the one-year window, and verify the retake fee beforehand.
  8. Calendar your renewal: 50 points within five years of certification.
Verify before you commit: Workshop schedules, organizer charges, retake fees and renewal fees were not fully verified in public sources at the time of writing. Confirm each directly with AHLEI or your proctor so your 2026 plan rests on current information rather than outdated forum posts.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are there fixed CHE exam dates in 2026?

The reviewed issuer sources do not identify a fixed national calendar of testing windows. The exam is administered with an approved proctor, so you arrange your sitting after completing the required workshop and assignments. Confirm current availability directly with AHLEI.

How long is the CHE exam and what score do I need?

The current global product specifies 100 questions in three hours with a 70% passing score and a required proctor. Older two-hour and 75% references are superseded. See our CHE passing score guide for more detail.

Is the workshop date the same as the exam date?

No. The required virtual or in-person workshop is a separate step from the exam. Workshop schedules are not the exam timer, so plan the workshop first and then arrange your proctored sitting.

How many times can I retake the CHE exam?

Two retake purchases are permitted within one year from application approval. The current retake fee was not verified in public sources, so confirm it before you need it and plan your first attempt early enough to leave room inside that one-year window.

When do I need to renew, and what does it require?

Current issuer guidance requires 50 recertification points within five years, and again every five years thereafter. These points are not automatically equivalent to CEU hours, and the current renewal fee remains unverified, so check with AHLEI as your renewal date approaches.

Ready to pass your CHE exam?

Put this into practice with free CHE questions across every exam domain.