CHE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CHE Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify

TL;DR
  • Two routes exist: Plan A needs 2 years of full-time postsecondary hospitality teaching; Plan B needs current teaching plus 5 industry years.
  • Both routes require managerial or supervisory industry experience: 1 year under Plan A, 2 years under Plan B.
  • The current global product lists 100 questions, 3 hours, a 70% passing score and a required proctor.
  • Completing the workshop and assignments is required alongside the exam; a virtual or in-person workshop satisfies it.

What "Qualifying" Means for the Certified Hospitality Educator

The Certified Hospitality Educator credential, administered by AHLEI, is built for people who teach hospitality, not for people who simply work in it. That distinction shapes every requirement. Where many hospitality credentials ask only for industry hours, the CHE asks you to prove two things at once: that you have run real operations as a manager or supervisor, and that you teach (or have taught) at the postsecondary level.

If you are still orienting yourself to the credential itself, the overview pages on what CHE certification is and what CHE stands for cover the basics. This article focuses on a narrower question: do you qualify today, which route fits you, and what must you complete before the certificate is yours?

Read this first: Eligibility is route-based, not point-based. You do not accumulate credit toward a threshold. You either satisfy every element of Plan A or every element of Plan B, so identify your route before you spend anything.

Plan A: The Full-Time Postsecondary Teaching Route

Plan A is the route for established career educators. Under the current global issuer eligibility, you need all of the following:

  • Teaching: two years of full-time postsecondary hospitality teaching.
  • Education: a qualifying degree or diploma.
  • Industry experience: two years in the hospitality industry, including at least one year in a managerial or supervisory role.

Plan A suits someone who moved from the industry into a college, university or vocational program and has since built a teaching record. The full-time requirement matters: a handful of guest lectures or occasional adjunct sessions would not meet the plain wording of "full-time postsecondary hospitality teaching."

Who typically fits Plan A

  • Program instructors at hospitality schools or colleges who have completed two full-time years in the classroom.
  • Culinary or hotel-operations faculty who hold a relevant degree or diploma and a supervisory background in kitchens, front office or food and beverage.
  • Career changers who left a management role and have now cleared their second year of full-time teaching.

Plan B: The Current-Teacher Route

Plan B is built for educators who teach now but do not meet the full-time two-year threshold, or who bring far more industry history than classroom history. Under the current global issuer eligibility:

  • Teaching: you are currently teaching, full-time or part-time.
  • Industry experience: five years in the hospitality industry, including at least two years in a managerial or supervisory role.

Notice what Plan B trades. It relaxes the teaching-tenure and full-time conditions, and it asks for a heavier industry record in return: five years instead of two, and two managerial years instead of one. The reviewed global product does not list a degree or diploma condition for Plan B in the way it does for Plan A, so confirm any education expectations with AHLEI before you apply.

Who typically fits Plan B

  • Part-time or adjunct instructors who also work in the industry.
  • Corporate or in-house trainers whose teaching role is current and whose industry background is deep.
  • Newer instructors with a long operations career but under two years of full-time classroom time.

Plan A vs. Plan B at a Glance

RequirementPlan APlan B
Teaching status2 years of full-time postsecondary hospitality teachingCurrently teaching, full-time or part-time
EducationQualifying degree or diplomaNot listed separately in the reviewed global product
Total industry experience2 years5 years
Managerial/supervisory portionAt least 1 yearAt least 2 years
English fluencyRequired for both routes under the 2026 host; not separately specified in the reviewed global product

Key Takeaway

If you can honestly claim two full-time teaching years and hold a qualifying credential, Plan A asks for less industry time. If your classroom record is thinner but your operations career is long, Plan B is usually the realistic path.

Documenting Managerial and Supervisory Experience

Both plans hinge on the managerial or supervisory slice of your industry years, and this is where applications tend to get stuck. Be deliberate about how you describe your history.

  • Count the role, not the title. A "shift lead" who scheduled staff, handled escalations and signed off on closing procedures may be doing supervisory work even without a manager title. Describe duties concretely.
  • Separate overlapping years. The managerial year(s) sit inside your total industry years, not on top of them. Plan A needs 2 total with 1 supervisory; Plan B needs 5 total with 2 supervisory.
  • Keep corroboration handy. Reference contacts, old job descriptions and offer letters make it easier to answer any follow-up.

The reviewed sources do not state a universal reference-count rule or a universal training-hour rule, so do not assume either one applies. Confirm the specifics your application will actually require at the time you apply.

The Workshop, Assignments and Exam

Meeting the eligibility criteria gets you in the door. Earning the credential requires three completions: the certification workshop, its assignments, and the exam. The workshop can be delivered virtually or in person, and AHLEI works with approved workshop and exam proctors.

Two practical points are easy to miss:

  • The workshop schedule is not the exam timer. Workshop dates and the exam's three-hour limit are separate things. Do not read workshop length as exam length.
  • Workshop availability needs confirmation. Sessions, dates and any separate organizer charges should be verified through AHLEI's review sessions and workshops page before you plan travel or time off.

For a scheduling-focused view, see our guide to CHE exam dates, testing windows and deadlines.

Exam Facts You Should Know Before Applying

Several older references to this credential circulate online. The current global product supersedes them, so use these figures:

ItemCurrent global product
Number of questions100
Time limit3 hours
Passing score70%
ProctorRequired
DeliveryOnline exam confirmed on the official site; no external testing vendor verified
Outdated numbers to ignore: Some older materials mention a two-hour exam and a 75% passing score. Those figures are superseded for the current product. If a prep resource quotes them, treat it as out of date. Our CHE passing score guide walks through the current threshold in more detail.

The current product listing does not specify the item format, the split between scored and unscored questions, or an observed pass rate. It also does not confirm calculator rules, open-book policy, or detailed remote-proctoring conditions, and a historical video requirement has not been confirmed as current. Rather than guess, check the participant guide you receive after purchase. For what the data does and does not show, see CHE pass rate: what the data shows.

Fee, Retakes and What Remains Unconfirmed

The current global product bundles the application, the participant guide in eBook form, and the ExamFlex exam purchase at USD $663. The member versus non-member mapping is not identified in the reviewed sources, and that price is not asserted to cover every workshop cost, so any separate organizer charges are something to confirm.

  • Retakes: two retake purchases are allowed within one year from application approval.
  • Retake fee: the current amount is unverified.
  • Renewal fee: the current amount is unverified.

The retake window is a planning constraint worth respecting: the clock runs from application approval, not from your first attempt. Build your study schedule so you are not forced to use a retake simply because time ran short. A fuller breakdown lives in our CHE certification cost guide.

What the Workshop Content Expects You to Know

The issuer publishes a content overview for its required certification workshop, organized into four categories and twenty subordinate topics. This is a workshop content overview, not an official weighted or exhaustive exam blueprint, and official domain weights remain unpublished. Still, it is the best map of what the credential cares about. Our CHE exam domains guide goes deeper on each area.

Domain 1: Teaching Foundations

The pedagogical bedrock of the credential.

  • Cultural awareness for global classrooms
  • The LEARN model, Bloom's taxonomy and self-determination theory, explained clearly
  • Adult learning principles, learning styles and interactive teaching methods
  • Creating positive and inclusive classroom environments

Domain 2: Content Delivery & Engagement

How you actually run a lesson, online or in person.

  • Strategies for both online and in-person settings
  • Methods for beginning, presenting and closing lessons
  • Feedback-driven learning activities
  • Practical instructional tools, communication methods and engagement techniques
  • Selecting media and support materials

Domain 3: Assessment & Feedback

Measuring whether learning happened.

  • Writing instructional objectives
  • Identifying learning outcomes and levels
  • Classroom evaluation techniques
  • The Start-Stop-Continue feedback method
  • Updated strategies for course closure

Domain 4: Expanded Curriculum Topics

The broadest and most current-events-oriented category.

  • Professional communication habits
  • Academic integrity, AI challenges and classroom expectations
  • Talent management and training and development fundamentals
  • AI, big data and the digital landscape in hospitality education
  • Sustainability, culinary concepts and the role of social media
  • A sample lesson plan and global hospitality research resources

Candidates coming from long industry careers often find Domain 1 and Domain 3 the steepest climb, because terms like Bloom's taxonomy and self-determination theory are educational vocabulary rather than operations vocabulary. Instructors who already hold teaching qualifications face the opposite problem: Domain 4 introduces hospitality-specific and technology-driven material they may not have formally studied. Our difficulty guide explores this tension.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Workshop

Because the workshop is a required step, the smartest preparation order differs from a typical "study, then test" sequence. A sensible arrangement for a CHE candidate looks like this:

Before workshop

Close your vocabulary gap

  • Industry-heavy applicants: learn the LEARN model, Bloom's taxonomy and self-determination theory in Domain 1.
  • Teaching-heavy applicants: skim the AI, big data and sustainability topics in Domain 4.
During workshop

Work the assignments as study material

  • Treat objectives, outcomes and the Start-Stop-Continue method as hands-on practice for Domain 3.
  • Use the sample lesson plan to rehearse Domain 2's begin, present and close structure.
After workshop

Practice under exam conditions

  • Rehearse a 100-question, 3-hour sitting so pacing is familiar.
  • Review weak domains before booking the proctored exam.

Our CHE study guide expands this into a fuller plan, and you can pressure-test your readiness with the CHE practice tests on the main site. A one-page refresher is available in the CHE cheat sheet.

Staying Certified: Recertification Points

Qualifying is not a one-time event. The current issuer-specific CHE renewal requirement is 50 recertification points within five years, and again every five years thereafter. Two cautions apply:

  • Points are not a blanket CEU-hour requirement, and they are not automatically equivalent to CEU hours. Do not assume that logging hours elsewhere converts one-to-one.
  • The current renewal fee is unverified, so check it before your cycle ends.

Track qualifying activities as you complete them rather than reconstructing five years of history at the deadline. If you are weighing the long-term value of keeping the credential current, see whether the CHE certification is worth it and the CHE salary guide.

Key Takeaway

Before paying, confirm four things in writing: which plan you meet, how your managerial years will be documented, which workshop session you will attend, and the current retake and renewal fees. Those four answers remove nearly every surprise.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to be a full-time instructor to qualify?

No. Plan A requires two years of full-time postsecondary hospitality teaching, but Plan B accepts people who are currently teaching full-time or part-time, provided they have five years of industry experience including at least two in a managerial or supervisory role.

How much managerial experience is required?

At least one year of managerial or supervisory experience under Plan A (within two total industry years), and at least two years under Plan B (within five total industry years).

Is a workshop mandatory, or can I just take the exam?

The workshop is required. The credential calls for completing the certification workshop, its assignments and the exam. The workshop can be virtual or in person, and workshop dates are separate from the exam's three-hour limit.

What are the current exam length and passing score?

The current global product lists 100 questions, a three-hour time limit, a 70% passing score and a required proctor. Older references to two hours and 75% are superseded for this product.

How often must I recertify?

The current issuer requirement is 50 recertification points within five years and every five years thereafter. Points are not automatically the same as CEU hours, and the current renewal fee should be confirmed with AHLEI.

If you meet one of the two plans, the next step is straightforward: confirm your workshop session, gather documentation for your managerial years, and begin building familiarity with the four domains. A browse through the broader CHE certification resources, or a first attempt at the practice questions, will show you quickly where your preparation stands.

Ready to pass your CHE exam?

Put this into practice with free CHE questions across every exam domain.