CHE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CHE Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt

TL;DR
  • The current global CHE product lists 100 questions, three hours, a 70% passing score and a required proctor.
  • The issuer's workshop content overview groups material into four categories; it is not a weighted exam blueprint.
  • Older two-hour and 75% references are superseded for the current product, so ignore them in outdated study notes.
  • Two retake purchases are allowed within one year of application approval, so plan your first attempt without panic.

What You Are Actually Studying For

The Certified Hospitality Educator (CHE) credential is administered by AHLEI and is aimed at people who teach hospitality at the postsecondary level. That single fact shapes how you should prepare. This is not a hospitality operations exam testing whether you can run a front desk or a kitchen line. It is a credential about teaching hospitality: how you design lessons, deliver content, assess learners and give feedback, alongside a set of modern curriculum topics a hospitality instructor is expected to understand.

If you are new to the credential itself, our explainers on what CHE certification is and what CHE stands for cover the basics. This guide assumes you have decided to pursue it and want a practical plan. If you want to test yourself as you go, the CHE practice test site is built for exactly that.

Read this before anything else: The four categories listed below come from the issuer's published content overview for its required certification workshop. They are not an official weighted or exhaustive exam blueprint, and scored-question allocations are unpublished. Anyone who tells you "Domain 2 is exactly 30% of the exam" is guessing.

Exam Format, Registration and Retakes

Before you plan content review, lock down the logistics, because the current product differs from older descriptions floating around the internet.

ItemCurrent global product
Administered byAHLEI, with approved workshop/exam proctors
DeliveryOnline exam; proctor required
Number of questions100
Time allowed3 hours
Passing score70%
Product priceUSD $663 (application, participant guide eBook and ExamFlex bundle)
RetakesTwo retake purchases within one year of application approval
Item format, scored/unscored split, observed pass rateNot specified by the product

Two cautions. First, the $663 figure is the current global product price; the member versus non-member mapping is not identified, and the price is not asserted to cover every workshop cost. Confirm whether your workshop organizer adds separate charges. Our CHE certification cost breakdown goes deeper on budgeting. Second, historical references to a two-hour exam and a 75% cut score are superseded for this product. If a study guide, forum post or colleague quotes those numbers, treat the source as outdated. For the scoring picture, see CHE passing score.

Details such as calculator use, open-book rules and the specifics of remote proctoring are unverified, so do not assume anything. Ask your proctor or workshop organizer directly, and confirm scheduling windows through the issuer; our CHE exam dates guide explains how to track them.

Confirm Eligibility Before You Study

Studying hard for an exam you cannot yet sit for is a costly mistake. The current issuer eligibility describes two plans:

  • Plan A: full-time postsecondary hospitality teaching for 2 years, a qualifying degree or diploma, and 2 industry years including 1 managerial or supervisory.
  • Plan B: current full-time or part-time teaching and 5 industry years including 2 managerial or supervisory.

The 2026 host also requires English fluency for both routes, though the reviewed global product does not spell that condition out separately. Completion of the workshop, assignments and exam is required. No universal training-hour or reference-count rule was verified. For the full picture, read CHE requirements.

Key Takeaway

Map your own teaching and industry history against Plan A and Plan B first. If you are close but short on managerial or supervisory years, you know your timeline before you spend on study materials.

Domain 1: Teaching Foundations

Foundations is where the credential's educational identity is clearest. The issuer's workshop overview lists these topics, and you should be able to explain each in your own words and apply it to a hospitality classroom scenario.

Teaching Foundations

Expect to connect learning theory to practical classroom decisions, not just define terms.

  • Cultural awareness for global classrooms: how diverse student backgrounds affect communication, participation and expectations.
  • The LEARN model, Bloom's taxonomy and self-determination theory: know what each framework says and when you would use it.
  • Adult learning principles, learning styles and interactive teaching methods: why adult and postsecondary learners need relevance, autonomy and active participation.
  • Positive and inclusive classroom environments: concrete practices that make learners feel safe to engage.

A useful drill: take a single hospitality lesson, such as teaching guest-complaint handling, and describe how each framework would shape it. Bloom's taxonomy helps you pitch the cognitive level of the activity; self-determination theory pushes you to build in choice and a sense of competence; adult learning principles remind you to connect the lesson to learners' real experience. Being able to move fluidly between theory and application is what scenario-style questions reward.

Domain 2: Content Delivery & Engagement

This category is the most practical. It covers how you actually run a class, in person and online.

Content Delivery & Engagement

Think like a lesson designer who has to keep a room, or a video grid, awake and learning.

  • Teaching online and in person: what changes in pacing, interaction and technology between the two.
  • Beginning, presenting and closing lessons: purposeful openings, structured delivery and strong closes.
  • Feedback-driven learning activities: activities that generate information about what learners understand.
  • Instructional tools, communication methods and engagement techniques: a toolkit you can match to a situation.
  • Selecting media and support materials: choosing resources that serve the objective rather than decorate it.

When you review this domain, practice justifying choices. If asked how to open a lesson to a sleepy afternoon cohort, the best answer connects the technique to a learning purpose, not just "use a fun icebreaker." The same applies to media selection: the right material depends on the objective, the audience and the delivery mode.

Domain 3: Assessment & Feedback

Assessment is where many working professionals who transitioned into teaching feel least certain, because industry experience does not automatically teach you how to measure learning.

Assessment & Feedback

Alignment is the unifying idea: objectives, activities and evaluation should point at the same outcome.

  • Writing instructional objectives: clear, observable statements of what a learner will do.
  • Identifying learning outcomes and levels: distinguishing recall-level outcomes from higher-order ones.
  • Classroom evaluation techniques: ways to check understanding during and after instruction.
  • Start-Stop-Continue feedback method: know the structure and when it fits.
  • Updated strategies for course closure: wrapping up a course so learning and feedback are captured.

A reliable self-test: write three instructional objectives for a hospitality unit, then tag each with a cognitive level and propose an evaluation technique that actually matches it. If your objective says "understand" but your assessment only checks recall, you have found a misalignment, exactly the kind of reasoning this domain tests.

Domain 4: Expanded Curriculum Topics

This is the broadest and most modern category. It rewards candidates who keep up with how hospitality education is changing, not just those who learned to teach years ago.

Expanded Curriculum Topics

Breadth matters here. Aim for working familiarity with each topic rather than deep specialization.

  • Professional communication habits for educators.
  • Academic integrity, AI challenges and classroom expectations: how to set and communicate policies in an AI-enabled environment.
  • Talent management and training & development (T&D) fundamentals.
  • AI, big data and the digital landscape in hospitality education.
  • Sustainability, culinary concepts and the role of social media.
  • Sample lesson plan and global hospitality research resources.

Because this category is wide, it is also where over-reading backfires. You do not need a research-level grasp of big data. You need to understand how it and AI affect what and how you teach, and be ready to reason about academic integrity policies in practical terms. For a deeper conceptual map of all four areas, see the complete CHE domains guide.

Making the Most of the Required Workshop

The CHE certification requires a virtual or in-person workshop, and it is central to your preparation, not a side event. The workshop content overview is the closest thing to an official map of what you will be expected to know, so treat it as your primary syllabus.

  • Match your notes to the four categories. Organize workshop notes by domain from day one so you can review by area later.
  • Do the assignments seriously. They are required, and they are also practice in applying the frameworks you will be questioned on.
  • Ask about the exam directly. Use workshop time to clarify proctoring arrangements, permitted materials and scheduling.
  • Keep the timers separate. Workshop schedules are not the exam timer. The exam is its own three-hour sitting.
Workshop versus exam: Attending the workshop does not equal being exam-ready. The workshop introduces material; your own review and practice turn it into recall and application under timed conditions.

A Domain-Ordered Study Sequence

Rather than generic scheduling advice, sequence your review by how the domains build on each other. Foundations first, because Bloom's taxonomy and adult learning principles underpin everything that follows. Then delivery, then assessment, then the broad curriculum topics, with a final integration week.

Week 1

Teaching Foundations

  • Summarize the LEARN model, Bloom's taxonomy and self-determination theory in your own words.
  • Apply each framework to one hospitality lesson.
Week 2

Content Delivery & Engagement

  • Outline how you would open, present and close a lesson online and in person.
  • List media choices and the objective each serves.
Week 3

Assessment & Feedback

  • Write objectives, tag cognitive levels and match evaluation techniques.
  • Practice the Start-Stop-Continue method on a sample class.
Week 4

Expanded Curriculum Topics

  • Review AI and academic integrity, T&D, sustainability and social media at a working level.
  • Walk through a sample lesson plan end to end.
Week 5

Integration and timed practice

  • Take timed 100-question sets on the practice test site to build three-hour stamina.
  • Revisit your weakest domain.

Adjust the pacing to your workshop date and your teaching load. If you are strong in delivery from years in the classroom but weaker in assessment, give assessment extra days rather than splitting time evenly.

Exam-Day Readiness

Three hours for 100 questions averages out to roughly one and three-quarter minutes per question, which is comfortable if you do not stall. Practice pacing so scenario questions do not eat time you need later. Because the item format is not specified by the current product, build flexibility: be ready for straightforward knowledge checks and for applied, scenario-style reasoning alike.

  • Confirm proctor logistics early: a proctor is required, so sort out who, when and how well before your date.
  • Test your technology: the exam is online, so verify your setup in advance.
  • Verify allowed materials: calculator and open-book rules are unverified, so ask rather than assume.
  • Aim above the line: the cut score is 70%, but target comfortable margin in every domain.

To gauge how demanding the experience is, read our difficulty guide, and note that the observed pass rate is not specified by the current product; our pass rate analysis explains what can and cannot be said. A one-page refresher is available in the CHE cheat sheet.

After You Pass: Recertification

Earning the credential is the start of a maintenance cycle. Current issuer CHE-specific renewal guidance requires 50 recertification points within five years, and every five years thereafter. These points are not automatically equivalent to CEU hours, so do not assume that a block of continuing-education hours converts one-for-one. The current renewal fee remains unverified, so confirm it with the issuer when you plan.

If you are weighing whether the investment pays off, our analyses of whether CHE is worth it, earnings and CHE jobs can help you decide, and you can find a primer on preparation resources under CHE training.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many questions are on the CHE exam, and how long do I have?

The current global CHE product specifies 100 questions in a three-hour exam, with a 70% passing score and a required proctor. Older two-hour and 75% references are superseded for this product.

Are the four CHE domains weighted on the exam?

Official weights are unpublished. The four categories (Teaching Foundations, Content Delivery & Engagement, Assessment & Feedback, and Expanded Curriculum Topics) come from the issuer's workshop content overview and are not a weighted or exhaustive exam blueprint, so prepare for all four.

What happens if I do not pass on the first attempt?

Two retake purchases are allowed within one year of application approval. The current retake fee is unverified, so confirm it with the issuer before budgeting.

Do I have to attend a workshop?

Yes. The certification requires a virtual or in-person workshop, along with assignments and the exam. Workshop schedules are separate from the exam timer, and any separate organizer charges should be confirmed.

How do I keep the certification active?

Current issuer guidance requires 50 recertification points within five years, repeating every five years. Those points are not automatically the same as CEU hours, and the renewal fee should be confirmed with the issuer.

For a broader orientation to the credential, you can revisit our pages on CHE certification and the main CHE study guide, and keep sharpening your recall with timed sets on the CHE Exam Prep practice tests.

Ready to pass your CHE exam?

Put this into practice with free CHE questions across every exam domain.