CHE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is CHE Certification?

TL;DR
  • CHE here means Certified Hospitality Educator, a credential for people who teach hospitality at the postsecondary level, administered through AHLEI.
  • The current product lists 100 questions, three hours, a 70% passing score, and a required proctor.
  • Eligibility splits into Plan A and Plan B, and both combine teaching experience with managerial or supervisory industry experience.
  • Renewal requires 50 recertification points within five years, and points are not the same thing as CEU hours.

What CHE Actually Stands For Here

The acronym "CHE" is shared by several unrelated credentials, so it is worth being precise at the start. On this site, CHE means Certified Hospitality Educator. It is a professional certification aimed at people who teach hospitality subjects, not at people who work in healthcare, chemistry, or any other field that happens to use the same three letters. If you arrived looking for a different credential, the details below (the issuer, the exam, the eligibility rules) will not apply to it.

If you are still orienting yourself on the terminology, our shorter explainers cover the basics from different angles: what CHE stands for, the CHE meaning, and what is CHE. This article goes deeper into how the credential is structured and what it demands.

In plain terms, the Certified Hospitality Educator certification recognizes that a person has both industry experience and a documented grounding in how to teach. It sits at the intersection of two skill sets: knowing hospitality and knowing pedagogy. Many hospitality instructors arrive in the classroom from kitchens, front desks, and management offices, and the CHE exists to formalize the teaching side of that transition.

Who Issues It and How the Exam Is Delivered

The CHE is administered by AHLEI, working with approved workshop and exam proctors. According to the current official product page, the exam is taken online. No external testing vendor has been verified, so you should not assume the exam happens at a third-party testing center. A proctor is required, which means the exam is not an unsupervised take-at-home assessment.

A few delivery details are worth flagging as unconfirmed rather than guessing at them:

  • Whether a calculator is allowed, whether the exam is open-book, and the specifics of remote proctoring rules have not been verified.
  • Older materials mention a video requirement, but that has not been confirmed as current.
  • The current item format, the split between scored and unscored questions, and an observed pass rate are not specified for this product.

That last point matters if you have seen pass-rate numbers floating around online. For what can and cannot be said, see our page on the CHE pass rate; the short version is that no verified figure exists for the current product.

Watch for outdated numbers: Some older references describe a two-hour exam with a 75% passing mark. Those are superseded. The current global product specifies 100 questions, three hours, and a 70% passing score. Always confirm against the issuer's live product page before you register.

Who Qualifies: Plan A vs. Plan B

Eligibility is one of the most CHE-specific parts of the credential, because it is built around the idea that a hospitality educator needs both classroom time and real management experience. There are two routes.

RequirementPlan APlan B
Teaching statusFull-time postsecondary hospitality teaching for 2 yearsCurrently teaching, full-time or part-time
EducationQualifying degree or diplomaNo degree requirement listed in the reviewed product
Industry experience2 years, including 1 managerial/supervisory5 years, including 2 managerial/supervisory

The pattern is clear: Plan A rewards a stronger academic and teaching record with a shorter industry requirement, while Plan B allows current part-time or full-time instructors with deeper industry backgrounds to qualify. In both cases, the managerial or supervisory component is not optional. A candidate with many years in hospitality but none in a supervisory role would not meet either route as described.

One additional condition appears in the 2026 host's materials: English fluency is required for both routes. The reviewed global product does not separately state that condition, so treat it as a host-level requirement to confirm when you apply. No universal training-hour or reference-count rule has been verified.

For a fuller walkthrough of prerequisites and how to document them, see CHE requirements: eligibility, prerequisites, and how to qualify.

The Workshop, Assignments, and Exam

Earning the CHE is not a single-event exam. The certification requires completing a workshop, which may be virtual or in-person, along with assignments and the exam itself. All three components are part of the process. The workshop is the instructional core; the exam is the assessment that follows.

An important distinction: workshop schedules are not the exam timer. The workshop is a separate learning event, and its length and calendar have nothing to do with the three-hour limit on the exam. Candidates sometimes conflate the two when planning their time. If you are mapping out when to attend and when to test, our guide to CHE exam dates, windows, and scheduling covers the logistics, and CHE training explains the workshop side.

Workshop costs need confirmation: The listed product price is not asserted to cover every workshop-related cost. Workshop availability and any separate organizer charges should be confirmed directly before you commit.

The Four Content Areas in Detail

The issuer publishes a workshop content overview organized into four categories with twenty subordinate topics. This is important context: these categories describe what the required workshop covers. They are not an official weighted or exhaustive exam blueprint, and official weights and scored-question allocations remain unpublished. Treat the four areas as the best available map of what to learn, not as a promise of how many questions each will contribute.

Domain 1: Teaching Foundations

This area builds the conceptual base for everything that follows. Candidates should be comfortable explaining frameworks, not just naming them.

  • Cultural awareness for global classrooms
  • Clear explanations of the LEARN model, Bloom's taxonomy, and self-determination theory
  • Adult learning principles, learning styles, and interactive teaching methods
  • Creating positive and inclusive classroom environments

Domain 2: Content Delivery & Engagement

This is the practical delivery layer: how a lesson actually runs, in person or online.

  • Strategies for teaching in both online and in-person settings
  • Effective methods for beginning, presenting, and closing lessons
  • Feedback-driven learning activities
  • Practical instructional tools, communication methods, and engagement techniques
  • Guidance for selecting media and support materials

Domain 3: Assessment & Feedback

Here the focus shifts from teaching to measuring whether teaching worked.

  • Writing instructional objectives
  • Identifying learning outcomes and levels
  • Classroom evaluation techniques
  • The Start-Stop-Continue feedback method
  • Updated strategies for course closure

Domain 4: Expanded Curriculum Topics

The broadest and most modern of the four areas, reflecting how the hospitality classroom is changing.

  • Professional communication habits
  • Academic integrity, AI challenges, and classroom expectations
  • Talent management and training & development (T&D) fundamentals
  • AI, big data, and the digital landscape in hospitality education
  • Sustainability, culinary concepts, and the role of social media
  • Sample lesson plan and global hospitality research resources

What this means for how you read the material

Notice how the domains build on each other. Teaching Foundations gives you vocabulary (Bloom's taxonomy, self-determination theory, adult learning principles). Content Delivery & Engagement asks you to apply that vocabulary to a live lesson. Assessment & Feedback then asks whether you can write objectives and measure outcomes at the right cognitive level, which is where Bloom's taxonomy returns in a more applied form. Expanded Curriculum Topics layers current issues on top, such as AI and academic integrity, which a decade ago would not have appeared in any educator credential.

A candidate who studies each domain in isolation misses these links. A more reliable approach is to keep asking how an idea from Domain 1 would show up when you write an objective in Domain 3. For a deeper breakdown of each area, read the complete guide to all four CHE content areas.

Fees, Retakes, and What We Can't Confirm

The current global application, participant-guide eBook, and ExamFlex product is listed at USD $663. The mapping between member and non-member pricing has not been identified, so we cannot tell you whether a membership changes that number. As noted earlier, the product price is not asserted to cover every possible workshop-related charge.

On retakes, the current product allows two retake purchases within one year from application approval. The retake fee itself remains unverified, as does the current renewal fee. Rather than quote a figure we cannot support, we recommend checking the issuer's product page at the time you buy. A complete discussion of how the pieces add up lives in our CHE certification cost breakdown.

ItemCurrent status
Application, participant-guide eBook, ExamFlexUSD $663 (global product)
RetakesTwo purchases allowed within one year of application approval; fee unverified
Renewal feeUnverified
Member vs. non-member pricingMapping not identified
Separate workshop/organizer chargesNeed confirmation

Staying Certified: The 50-Point Renewal Rule

Earning the credential is not the end of the commitment. The current issuer guidance specific to CHE requires 50 recertification points within five years, and then every five years thereafter. The wording matters: these are recertification points, not a blanket CEU-hour requirement. Points are not automatically equivalent to CEU hours, so do not assume that any continuing education you complete converts one-to-one.

Key Takeaway

Start tracking professional development activity from the day you are certified. A five-year window sounds generous, but gathering 50 points is much easier when you log activities as they happen rather than reconstructing them at the end. Confirm exactly which activities earn points with the issuer's recertification guidance.

Where the Credential Fits in a Career

The natural audience is people who teach hospitality at the postsecondary level: instructors and faculty at colleges, universities, and vocational or technical institutions, along with part-time and adjunct instructors who bring industry expertise into the classroom. Because eligibility requires managerial or supervisory industry experience, the credential implicitly signals that the holder has led teams and operations, not only taught about them.

We do not publish salary figures here because no verified number applies to the credential specifically. If you are weighing the investment, our analyses of whether the CHE is worth it and earnings considerations discuss how to reason about value without leaning on invented statistics, and CHE jobs looks at the kinds of roles where the certification is relevant.

The honest framing is that the credential's value depends heavily on your institution and goals. For some instructors it supports hiring, promotion, or credibility with students and employers; for others it is primarily a professional development milestone. Consider what your own institution values before assuming a particular return.

A Domain-Ordered Prep Sequence

Because the four domains build on each other, a sensible order follows the dependency chain rather than the order you happen to find most interesting. Here is one way to schedule it, adjusted to your own timeline.

Week 1

Teaching Foundations first

  • Learn the LEARN model, Bloom's taxonomy, and self-determination theory well enough to explain each aloud
  • Review adult learning principles and inclusive-classroom practices
Week 2

Content Delivery & Engagement

  • Practice structuring a lesson opening, body, and close
  • Compare online and in-person delivery choices
Week 3

Assessment & Feedback

  • Draft instructional objectives tied to specific Bloom levels
  • Work through Start-Stop-Continue as a feedback method
Week 4

Expanded Curriculum Topics and full review

  • Cover AI, academic integrity, T&D fundamentals, and sustainability
  • Take a timed practice run against the 100-question, three-hour format

Doing Assessment & Feedback after Teaching Foundations is deliberate: objective-writing and outcome levels are much easier once Bloom's taxonomy is solid. Leaving Expanded Curriculum Topics for last also lets you treat it as a broad review layer. For structured guidance, see our CHE study guide, and keep the CHE cheat sheet handy for last-minute recall. To check your readiness under realistic conditions, try the practice questions at our main practice test site.

Calibrating your expectations

Difficulty is subjective and depends on your teaching background. A seasoned instructor may find Domains 1 and 2 familiar and need more time on the newer Domain 4 material, while a recent industry transfer may find the reverse. Our difficulty guide discusses how to judge where you stand, and the passing score page clarifies what 70% means in practice. Whichever way you lean, taking a full-length practice test early will show you which domain deserves the most attention.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CHE certification stand for?

On this site, CHE stands for Certified Hospitality Educator, a credential for people who teach hospitality at the postsecondary level. It is administered through AHLEI and is unrelated to other credentials that share the same acronym.

How long is the CHE exam and what score do I need?

The current global product specifies 100 questions in three hours with a 70% passing score and a required proctor. Older references to a two-hour, 75% exam are superseded. The item format and scored/unscored split are not specified for this product.

Who is eligible to apply?

There are two routes. Plan A requires two years of full-time postsecondary hospitality teaching, a qualifying degree or diploma, and two industry years including one managerial or supervisory. Plan B requires current teaching, five industry years, and two managerial or supervisory years. The 2026 host also requires English fluency.

Do I have to attend a workshop?

Yes. The certification requires completing a workshop, either virtual or in-person, along with assignments and the exam. Workshop schedules are separate from the exam timer, and any additional organizer charges should be confirmed before you register.

How do I keep the certification current?

The current issuer guidance requires 50 recertification points within five years, and again every five years thereafter. These points are not automatically equivalent to CEU hours, and the current renewal fee remains unverified, so check the issuer's recertification guidance for specifics.

For a broader overview of the credential, you may also want to read our companion pages on what CHE certification is and the CHE certification in general.

Ready to pass your CHE exam?

Put this into practice with free CHE questions across every exam domain.